Papua New Guinea opens Visa on Arrival (VoA) to all Pacific Island States and Territories

Papua New Guinea is further extending the Visa on Arrival (VOA) facility to passport holders from Micronesian and Polynesian States and Territories to strengthen its relations with Pacific Island States and the Pacific Forum countries, the Chief Migration Officer, Stanis Hulahau has announced today.

This means that passport holders from all Pacific Island States in Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia are now eligible for VOA at all authorized ports of entry in PNG, specifically Jacksons International Airport and Wutung land border post.

“I am pleased to announce that passport holders from all Pacific Island States and Territories can now get visa on arrival,” said the CMO Mr Hulahau. “They no longer need to apply for visa before their departure and we will communicate the same to all operating airlines and relevant international bodies on this new inclusion.”

Effective immediately, VOA is accessible to nationals from American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and the French Territories of French Polynesia (Tahiti), Wallis and Futuna and New Zealand passport holding countries and territories including Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau and the United States territories of Guam and Northern Mariana Islands.

The inclusion of this island states now adds to the existing list of Melanesian countries including Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Fiji and New Caledonia.

The CMO explained that Pacific islanders who travel to PNG must have an authentic passport at least six (6) months of validity and must produce a return ticket and the completed arrival card at an immigration officer on arrival as requirements for VOA. He said Pacific Islanders who meet the entry requirements will be issued with an Easy Visitor Visa for 60 days per visit.

The Chief Migration Officer is confident that the inclusion of all Pacific Island States to access this facility would encourage more movements and facilitation of trade and services, and tourism in the region.

Apart from the Pacific Island States, Papua New Guinea is also issuing VOA to Diplomatic, Official and Service passport holders from the People’s Republic of China, Japan, State of Israel and the Republic of Indonesia based on bilateral visa exemption agreements on reciprocal basis. Chinese tourists who hold ordinary passports and travels on organized group tours with a PNG registered tour operation are also eligible for VOA for a specific short stay only.